How do I manage user access in my Oyster account?

Ashley Luk
Ashley Luk
  • Updated

Overview

Oyster makes it easy for you to maintain the appropriate balance of collaboration and control with seamless account management for your team. Our user access roles give you the flexibility to manage your Oyster account.

Oyster accounts have different levels of access available for users: Admin and Team Manager. An Admin can invite other users to join. They can also add roles to different users based on access preferences.

In this article, you’ll learn the differences among user access levels and how to add or change account access. 

User Levels

User Access Level

Description

Admin

An Admin has full access to your Oyster account. They can see and edit all information in your account, including company and an engagement’s personal data. They have the ability to create users and add access roles. 

Expense Approver: The Expense Approver is an admin and the only person in your company who is asked to approve expenses. If no Expense Approver is selected, all Admins in your company will receive expense approvals.

Team Manager

A Team Manager can approve time off or expense requests from select Team Member(s) on the Oyster platform. 

Note: You must have at least 1 Admin on your company account. 

 

Prerequisites 

Before you get started, the following must be true:

  • You have Admin access to your organization’s account.
  • You are logged in to the Oyster Platform with your admin credentials.

 

Steps to grant account access

Oyster uses with Admin access can adjust account permissions for new and existing users in your Oyster account.

To grant access to a new user, follow these steps:

  1. Head to your Settings.Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.33.49_PM.png
  2. Click the User management tab.Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.35.35_PM.png
  3. Click Add role to user or new user.Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.36.24_PM.png
  4. Choose the New User option.Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.49.32_PM.png
  5. Input your new user’s information, such as their name and email address, then select a Role option from the drop down menu.Screen_Shot_2022-07-15_at_10.47.14_AM.png
  6. Click Continue to add the new user to your account. Your new user recipient will receive an email invitation to join your account under the role level you selected. Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.37.36_PM.png



To downgrade access for an existing Admin user, follow these steps:

  1. Head to your Settings.Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.33.49_PM.png
  2. Click the User management tab.Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.35.35_PM.png
  3. For the specific user, click Actions, then Revoke.Screen_Shot_2022-08-02_at_9.51.02_AM.png
  4. Click Revoke invitation. This user will no longer have their current permissions to your Oyster Account. Please note that you will not be able to revoke an Admin who is also set as your company's Expense Approver. You will need to set a new Expense Approver first.Screen_Shot_2022-08-02_at_9.51.46_AM.png
  5. Now, you will need to re-invite this user as a new access role. Click Add role to user or new user.Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.36.24_PM.png
  6. Choose the Existing User option.Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.49.32_PM.png
  7. Input your new user’s information, such as their name or email address. Then select a Role option from the drop down menu.Screen_Shot_2022-07-15_at_10.47.14_AM.png
  8. Click Continue to add the new user to your account. Your new user recipient will receive an email invitation to join your account under the role level you selected. 
    Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.37.36_PM.png


To upgrade access for an existing Team Manager user, follow these steps:

  1. Click Add role to user or new user.Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.36.24_PM.png
  2. Choose the Existing User option.Screen_Shot_2022-09-23_at_9.03.52_AM.png
  3. Input your new user’s information, such as their name or email address. Then select a Role option from the drop down menu.Screen_Shot_2022-09-23_at_11.30.35_AM.png
  4. Click Continue to add the new user to your account. Your new user recipient will receive an email invitation to join your account under the role level you selected. Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_2.37.36_PM.png